Demetrius Andrade ready for Martirosyan -“This is my time!”

November 2, 2013

News

20131103-104500.jpg

On November 9th, Vanes Martirosyan will take on Demetrius Andrade for the vacant World Boxing Organization (WBO) junior middleweight championship title. The fight will be aired on HBO as part of a triple header with the main attraction being Mikey Garcia challenging Rocky Martinez for his WBO junior lightweight title. The card will include the rematch of Nonito Donaire and Vic Darchinyan as the cofeature bout.

“We (Star Boxing and Banner Promotions) have worked together the past five years as Demetrius’ promoter and it is Demetrius’ time to show the World his talents.” Star Boxing president Joe DeGuardia said. “I’ve been on the road a lot in October, including my trip to Orlando for Delvin Rodriguez’s fight with (Miguel) Cotto, and Artie and I went to Atlanta last week to Demetrius’ training camp. Camp is winding down and Demetrius looks to be in top shape and ready to go. Next week we all head to Texas and are all looking forward to watching Demetrius win the world title.”

Originally, Andrade was scheduled to get his first shot at the WBO title against then champion Zaurbek Baysangurov. Zaurbek had to pull out of the fight due to an injury. Due to his injury, he was consequently stripped from his title and it is now up for grabs between Andrade and Martirosyan. “This is the opportunity I’ve waited for my whole life,” Andrade remarked. “I was supposed to fight for the world title in July but I believe everything happens for a reason. I’ve had more time to work with my dad (head trainer Paul Andrade). I’m stronger, faster and this camp has been better organized and structured than any I’ve had in the past.”

As a fan of the sport, I personally am really excited for this fight. You have two undefeated (as professionals) U.S. Olympians- Andrade in 2008 and Martirosyan in 2004, fighting for a world title. Both have entertaining styles, and I expect them to clash well and should make for one hell of a prize fight. “I’m coming for him (Martirosyan) and he doesn’t know how bad that’s going to be for him,” the 2007 AIBA World amateur champion added. “This is my time!”

Boy, so many fights I’m looking forward to watching. 2013 is definitely going out with a BANG! Thanks for reading and being a fan of the sweet science.

Lucas Biggers

,

About Lucas BIggers

I am a fan turned writer, who wants to help bring the sport of boxing back to its golden age.

View all posts by Lucas BIggers

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave your opinion!