Quillin Proves To Be True Top Middleweight In KO Win Over Guerrero

April 28, 2013

News

Peter Quillin v Fernando Guerrero

In my prediction, I had stated that this fight was a “fight fan” type of fight. From the beginning to the end of the fight, it did not disappoint. Also, as stated in my prediction, I stand corrected, and would like to congratulate Peter Quillin for finishing off his opponent. Peter Quillin is definitely solidifying himself as a “monster Middleweight!”

Round one was your typical “study round,” where both fighters studied what each other brought to the table. Round two was an entertaining and a good round for Quillin. Quillin began to pick his punches carefully, and it was evident who was the hardest hitter, and strongest fighter in the ring. Peter dropped Guerrero twice in that round. Luckily, for Guerrero’s case, this happen late enough in the round that the bell was able to save Guerrero from an early stoppage. Many people might have brought up the point that Quillin has trouble finishing his opponents off, my self included, but the truth of the matter was that Quillin was being smart, didn’t want to punch him self out, and was intelligently picking his shots.

Quillin was not able to finish Guerrero off early in the fight, but throughout the remaining rounds that the fight lasted, Quillin was the far superior fighter for this bout. There were moments where Guerrero was landing left and right hooks to Quillin’s head without even shaking him up. Quillin took everything that Guerrero had to offer in this fight, and by the 7th round, Quillin stopped Guerrero and got a TKO victory. Quillin defended his title, kept his 0 in tack, and has solidified himself as a legitimate Middleweight. Why all these allocates? Well, its simple, he is wining and wining in an impressive manner.

We have to understand that Guerrero came to this fight, not just for a payday, or by a given opportunity, but rather, Guerrero came to fight in a title fight that he rightfully earned. This is what boxing is about! Champions have to defend their titles against tough and well deserved opposition. For that, I tip my hat off to both fighters for giving it their all, and giving all boxing heads a great show!

So now, whats next for Peter Quillin? Does he get the winner of GGG vs. MacKlin, a pay-day fight against Chavez Jr., or does he get a shot at the current Middleweight king, Sergio Martinez? All of these options are great match ups, and fights that would catapult Quillin to boxing super stardom. As stated by Quillin, himself in an interview he gave me in the end of 2012, Quillin is ready and willing to take on any one, “Animal Status!”

Boxing heads, who would you guys like to see Peter “Kid Chocolate” Quillin take on next? Voice your opinions as a comment below, or let us know on Twitter, @TheHeavyBag or @chegutierrez67

A Humble Boxing Fan

Rudy “Ruthless” Gutierrez

, , , , , , ,

About Rudy "Ruthless" Gutierrez

Born and raised in the mean streets of South Central L.A. Been a boxing fan all of my life. My childhood boxing memories are going with my dad to friends houses to watch Julio Cesar Chavez fight. My boxing knowledge comes from training in several gyms here in LA. I have several sparring round as ring experience. I never competed in the sport of boxing, but I love the sport and respect anyone who has the guts to lace up a pair of gloves. I love it so much that I am looking to one day be a boxing trainer and open my very own gym. Aside from reading, watching, and studying boxing, I love watching soccer matches, listening to all genre of music, playing guitar, teaching young children academics, and what I know of the “sweet science.”

View all posts by Rudy "Ruthless" Gutierrez

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave your opinion!